Mental Health Advocate of the Year

(T.A. Sweet Award)

About the T.A. Sweet Award

The TA Sweet award is presented annually to a non-physician member of the public who has made a major contribution to the understanding of mental illness and its impact on individuals in society.

Previous recipients have included leaders in volunteer and community activities, people from the field of journalism and individuals who suffer from mental illness. Our most recent recipients were: Ron Ellis, Lt. General (Ret.) Roméo Dallaire, Anne Murray, Phil Upshall, Senator Michael Kirby, William MacPhee, Michael Bay, Robert Munsch, Sister Margaret Smith, Margaret Trudeau, Voices from the Street, Brother Richard MacPhee, Clara Hughes, Ann Dowsett Johnston, Sgt. Lorna Bruce and Dr. Heather Stuart.

Dr. Ted A. Sweet was the Secretary of the Ontario Neuro-Psychiatric Association from 1946 until the early 1960s, well after the ONPA had changed its name to the Ontario Psychiatric Association in 1956. His characteristic signature appeared throughout the minute books of that period. He was a physician at the Ontario Hospital, Whitby, until his retirement in 1965. In his will, he left a bequest to the OPA that was to be used for a good purpose.

To submit your nomination, please use the form below. Deadline for Nominations: December 16, 2019.

Submit Your Nomination

The 2019 OPA TA Sweet Award – Mental Health Advocate of the Year Winner is Kimberly Moran!

Kimberly Moran is dedicated to improving the lives of children and youth with a focus on strengthening healthcare policy, systems and patient outcomes in Canada and internationally. She is recognized as a leading and fierce advocate of access to quality and timely child and youth mental health. Her passion for improving the delivery of child and youth mental health treatment runs deep and is rooted in her family’s lived experience with mental health as a mother of a daughter who became seriously ill.

An expert in designing integrated patient-centred systems of care, she is a sought-after advisor and speaker on the topic.  She has also worked extensively with and advised health system stakeholders at all levels of government in Canada and internationally.

Kim is currently CEO of Children’s Mental Health Ontario, representing the province’s largest provider of child and youth mental health services, supporting 120,000 children, youth and their families. She serves on the board of CMHA Toronto, and previously contributed to the North York General Hospital and SIM-one Simulation Healthcare Network boards.

 Kim is a member of the Premier’s Council on Improving Health Care and Ending Hallway Medicine. Established October 2018, this is an independent, voluntary expert advisory council, which reports to the Premier and the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care. The council released their first report this January.

Kim brings more than thirty years of senior leadership experience in the private and not-for-profit sectors.  She is also a Chartered Professional Accountant which underlies her passion for developing effective and affordable healthcare systems.

Prior to CMHO, Kim held positions as Special Advisor to the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto, Acting CEO and Chief Operating Officer at UNICEF Canada, and senior finance positions with TD Bank and Ernst & Young.

© 2019 Ontario Psychiatric Association
Privacy Policy